Skip to main content

Boreal Community Media

Letter from Regional Superintendents

Oct 12, 2020 12:10PM ● By Editor

Friday, October 8, 2020 

To: Constituents in Aitkin, Carlton, Cass, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, Pine and St. Louis Counties: 

We’re writing to you today to ask for your help. 

We are four weeks into the year and already schools in our seven-county region have had to adjust their learning models  from either in-person to hybrid or hybrid to distance learning due to sharp increases in positive COVID-19 cases. This is disappointing for everyone involved. 

We have been given requirements from the Minnesota Department of Health that we are following, and it is working.  Across the state, there has been minimal transmission within schools. However, officials at MDH have said the COVID-19  virus is, for the most part, spreading outside of school – transmission is happening in community settings and at family  and social gatherings. 

We want our kids in school as much as possible. You, the great people in our communities, have said you also want our kids in school. We know of only one way that gives us the best chance at safely keeping our kids in school, sports, and  activities. 

We need your help. This information is nothing you haven’t already heard, but bears repeating as it’s going to take all of  us to make a difference. Please – help us keep cases low and our kids in school by following the very clear guidelines offered by MDH: 

⇒ Avoid crowds. 

⇒ Keep family and social gatherings outdoors. 

⇒ Stay 6 feet from others. 

⇒ Wear a mask. 

⇒ Wash your hands. 

⇒ Stay home when sick. 

Do it for our kids. 


Dan Stifter, Aitkin Public Schools 

Mike McNulty, Barnum Public Schools 

John Engstrom, Carlton Public Schools 

Janey Blanchard, Chisholm Public Schools,  

Michael Cary, Cloquet Public Schools 

Bill Crandall & Megan Myers, Cook County Public Schools 

Nathan Libbon, Cromwell/Wright Public Schools 

Jeff Pesta, Deer River Public Schools 

John Magas, Duluth Public Schools 

Erik Erie, Ely Public Schools 

Aaron Fischer, Esko Public Schools 

Rae Villebrun, Floodwood Public Schools 

Matt Grose, Grand Rapids Public Schools 

David Pace, Greenway Public Schools 

Wayne Whitwam, Hermantown Public Schools 

Richard Aldrich, Hibbing Public Schools 

Pat Rendle, Hill City Public Schools 

Kevin Grover, International Falls Public Schools 

Bill Crandall and Jay Belcastro, Lake Superior Public Schools

Jamie Wendt, Littlefork/Big Falls Public Schools 

Brad Johnson, McGregor Public Schools 

Gregg Allan, Mesabi East Public Schools 

Billie Jo Steen, Moose Lake Public Schools 

Reggie Engebritson, Mountain Iron/Buhl Public Schools 

Brenda Spartz, Nashwauk/Keewatin Public Schools 

Peter Hardy, Nett Lake Public Schools 

Dena Hagen, Northern Lights Academy 

Brian Yuretich, Northland Learning Center 

Pat Rendle, Northland Community Public Schools 

John Engelking, Proctor Public Schools 

Noel Schmidt, Rock Ridge Public Schools 

Reggie Engebritson, St. Louis County Public Schools 

Bill Peel, Willow River Public Schools 

Kim Belcastro, Wrenshall Public Schools

Boreal Ship Spotter - larger view here