Skip to main content Skip to main content

Boreal Community Media

"The Fall of the House of Usher" with Pyrrha

String trio performs live score for 1928 silent film

Pyrrha, the Minneapolis-based ensemble of musicians Jackie Beckey (viola), Jonathan Kaiser (cello), and Adam Wozniak (bass), perform their original score for Jean Epstein's 1928 silent film "The Fall of the House of Usher." Based on Edgar Allen Poe's gothic horror story, the film seethes with dreamy visual experimentation and surreal imagery. A psychological tale of confusion between reality and pictures, the 90-year-old cinematic gem resonates with campy melodrama perfect for the age of social media. The trio Pyrrha, equally experienced in rock clubs and art galleries as classical concert halls, combine musical genres ranging from folk tunes to experimental sound for their lush score, bringing this silent film alive for contemporary audiences. Tickets for sale in advance at or at door night of show (box office opens at 6:30 pm).

Date & Time

June 10, 2017


More Info

Event Website


Adults $15, Youth $10

Concerts & Live Music Grand Marais