Skip to main content

Boreal Community Media

Spring burning restrictions begin in Minnesota

May 01, 2018 08:50PM ● By Editor

Spring burning restrictions begin in Minnesota

April 30, 2018

Warm temperatures and dry conditions mean increased wildfire risk, so the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources will restrict open burning in the following counties effective immediately: 

Anoka, Beltrami (north), Benton, Chisago, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Roseau, Sherburne, Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin, Wright.

The state will not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until this ban is lifted.

“For more than a decade, spring burning restrictions have successfully reduced the number of wildfires we’ve had in Minnesota,” said Casey McCoy, DNR fire prevention supervisor. “In fact, wildfires are down more than 30 percent from a decade ago, thanks in large part to these restrictions.”

McCoy cautions that, to keep this trend going, people must continue to follow burn restrictions. He also encourages residents to use alternatives to burning, such as composting, chipping, or taking brush to a collection site. For information on how to compost yard debris, visit the University of Minnesota’s Extension website.

Those who burn debris can be held financially responsible if their fire escapes and burns other property.

Burning restrictions for additional counties will be added as conditions change. For information and daily updates on current fire risk and open burning restrictions, visit the Minnesota DNR website:

Upcoming Events Near You
Boreal Ship Spotter - larger view here