Tribal Chair Norman Deschampe retains RTC position

The Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa held its 2012 primary election on Tuesday, April 3, 2012 for Reservation Tribal Council chair and a committeeman seat. When the polls closed and the votes had been counted, Tribal Chair Norman Deschampe had once again retained his council seat. Deschampe earned 51% of the vote, with 199 votes. Because he garnered over half of the votes, Deschampe will not have to be on the ballot for general election in June.

The other candidates who ran for tribal chair were Donovan D. Dahmen, Lena (Deschampe) Santos and Dennis B. Morrison. Howard Johnson.

However, none of the candidates running for the committeeman seat had a majority of votes, so that race will go to a general election in June. However, the names on the ballot for June have yet to be declared. The contest was very close and a recount has been requested.

Running for the committeeman seat was Rita Evans who received 11 votes; incumbent Committeeman William “Bill” Myers, who received 109 votes; Robert J. Hull who received 110 votes and Marie Spry, who received 132 votes. The two candidates who receive the most votes proceed to the general election, so the initial count shows Hull and Spry moving on to the June election.

However a recount has been requested because of the narrow margin between William Myers and Robert Hull. Election Judge Gale Carlson said the recount would be held Monday, April 9 at 10 a.m. at the old Log Community Building. The recount is open to Grand Portage Band Members.