Arrowhead Electric seeks nominees for board of directors

Arrowhead Electric Cooperative Inc. (AECI) is in the process 
of nominating and electing board members. Now is the time for co-op 
members interested in electrical service, electric rates, and 
countywide broadband to come forward if they would like to be involved.
AECI Administrative Assistant Rose Thoreson explained, “The 
grassroots participation in nominating and electing directors is one 
of the most important powers that you, the members, have in 
controlling your cooperative.”
Directors are responsible for hiring a CEO/general manager; approving 
policies and policy revisions; approving rates; reviewing and 
approving operating budgets and work plans; approving various loans 
and contracts and strategic planning.
This year the three-year term of District 2, District 4 and District 5
will have elections at the 2012 Annual Meeting scheduled for Saturday, 
June 9 at the Arrowhead Center for the Arts in the Cook County High 
School in Grand Marais.
District 2 serves the Maple Hill-Colvill area. Lou Terrizzi is the 
incumbent director and is seeking re-election.
District 4 serves Rosebush – Devil Track area. Wayne Anderson has 
exhausted his term limit and is ineligible to run again.
District 5 serves the Pike Lake – Cascade area. Howard Abrahamson is 
the incumbent director and is seeking re-election.
Members living in Districts 2, 4, and 5 who are interested in being 
considered for nomination or if you know a member whom you believe 
would be a qualified candidate, are asked to contact Arrowhead at 
(218) 663-7239.
The Nominating Committee for 2012 will meet Tuesday, March 27. The 
nominating committee for this year is Mary Petz, District 1, Hovland-
Grand Portage; Burt Carlsted-Gillis, District 2 Maple Hill-Colvill; 
Paul Kelnberger, District 3 Gunflint Trail; Eleanor Waha, District 4 
Rosebush-Devils Track; Nancy Daley, District 5 Pike Lake-Cascade; Jeff 
Latz, District 6 Lutsen; Carol Tveekrem, District 7 Tofte.
Voting will take place by mail and at the annual meeting.  The 
director candidate receiving the highest vote for each district will 
serve on the board of directors for the next three years.