Skip to main content

Library announces winter series

Dec 14, 2017 07:19PM ● Published by Editor

The Grand Marais Public Library announces the Winter Series lineup to begin Wednesday, January 3, at 6 PM. All events are to occur in the library. All events are open to the public, though some require advance registration and have limited group size. Further details may be found on the library website, www.grandmaraislibrary.org, or on the Grand Marais Public Library Facebook page.

The first event, scheduled for January 3, 2018, at 6 PM, “The Roots of Pushing Chain” is to feature the well-known local duo of Boyd Blomberg and Adam Moe. The pair is to discuss the music they played early in their career, and how that music still influences their work today. The event is to be a combination of talk and performance.

Later that week, on Friday, January 5, at 10:30 AM, is to be a presentation titled “Capitol Furniture” to be delivered by Natalie Heneghan of the Cass Gilbert Society. She is to speak about efforts to research, and to locate, original Cass Gilbert furniture from the Minnesota State Capitol. Slides are to accompany her presentation to show the pieces in question. “Capitol Furniture” is sponsored by the Legacy Program at Arrowhead Library System, and is funded in whole or in part by a grant from Minnesota’s Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.

The schedule for the season is as follows:

Wednesday, January 3, 6 PM – “Roots of Pushing Chain”

Friday, January 5, 10:30 AM – Cass Gilbert Society, “Capitol Furnishings”

Wednesday, January 10, 6 PM – Tech Night

Wednesday, January 17, 6 PM – Bryan Hansel “The Night Sky”

Wednesday, January 24, 6 PM – Chris Welter, “Leaves from the Family Tree”

Thursday, January 25, 10:30 AM – Duluth Art Institute “Metal Tooling” (limited to 20 participants)

Wednesday, January 31, 6 PM – Beth Benson “Walking Without Words”

Wednesday, February 7, 3:30 PM – Duluth Playhouse “Mad Science” (juvenile)

Wednesday, February 14, 6 PM – Tech Night

Wednesday, February 21, 6 PM – Mary Mulari “Vintage Aprons”

Wednesday, February 28, 6 PM – CANCELLED - Betsy Bowen, “Dreams, Vision, Passion, Persistence, Kindness: An Artist’s Journey to the Big World” - CANCELLED

Wednesday, March 7, 5:30 PM – Chad Lewis – “Bizarre Burial Beliefs and Customs”

Wednesday, March 14, 6 PM – Tech Night


Community
Boreal Ship Spotter - larger view here

Weather Alerts Provided by Willy Weather